Footballguys Nix Super Bowl Fix

I’m finding out that suggesting the Super Bowl may have been fixed is a very touchy subject. This week I have been posting my thoughts about the Super Bowl on various football message boards. While many people have disagreed, no one has objected to me expressing an opinion on the matter, until now.

Footballguys.com forums moderator Mark Wimer deleted my thread called “Super Bowl XLIV fixed?”. Next, he suspended my forum account for having a link to this blog in my signature. Sorry, but I glossed over that particular terms violation when I signed up six months ago. Surely, a warning letter would have sufficed. I was just looking for an easy way to express my points without having to copy and paste the entire article.

I wrote board administrator Joe Bryant at footballguys.com, and he agreed to have my account reinstated. However, I was shocked to find out that the forum moderator had removed my thread about the Super Bowl XLIV all together. Here’s the email that I received from the forum moderator Mark Wimer.

Mark Wimer
date Wed, Feb 10, 2010 at 3:39 PM
subject ***Footballguys.com Board restrictions removed

Hello,

Joe asked me to remove the restrictions from your account at Footballguys, so you’re back in business on the boards.

Please do not advertise competing FF information/content in the sig line on our boards in future.

Also, really sensational posts that claim things like the ‘fixing’ of the Superbowl should be avoided. A lot of professional writers/NFL players read on our MB and that sort of claim is incendiary, to say the least.

Mark Wimer, http://www.footballguys.com

I have no problem with modifying my signature, which I have already done. I have no problem that the moderator removed my Super Bowl XLIV fix posting. It’s their site, and they can edit content as they please. I was just surprised that they felt so threatened at the suggestion that the outcome of the Super Bowl may have been predetermined. However, it makes perfect sense. Why wouldn’t they want to shut down anyone writing and posting ideas that could threaten their very livelihood?

Pro sports is an annual trillion dollar industry. The main attractions to pro sports are the belief that they are spontaneous and that the outcome is undetermined. If pro sports were ever to be revealed to be fixed, then the attraction to sporting events would lessen dramatically. There are many levels of people eating off the sports industry including fantasy football Internet sites. The last thing they need is someone posting ideas that jeopardize their existence.

People who question the legitimacy of pro sports are often lumped in with JFK conspirator theorists, folks who don’t think we walked on the moon, and people who have unanswered questions about 9-11. As far as I’m concerned, that’s excellent company to be in. Thanks for reading.

UPDATE: Fantasy Cafe deleted my post about the Super Bowl possibly being fixed, as well. They didn’t even e-mail me a reason. They permanently banned me from the site. I’ve written them asking for an explanation, but no response yet. Haters.

About electricrelish

electricrelish is fantasy football fanatic and columnist.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Footballguys Nix Super Bowl Fix

  1. Buggy says:

    Keep on keepin’ it real.

  2. Bearbroncos says:

    I assume you have the same information on Fantasy Cafe as here on your blog? If so, why in heavens name would they delete this post and ban you? Makes no sence with this article very well put together, granted debatable, however some excellent points!

    • Thanks for the comment. Yes, I made the same points. They offered no explanation nor reply to my e-mail asking them why. It’s a touchy subject. It’s their site. They can do what they want.

Leave a Reply

